Every year at the organization's Annual Convention, OACB recognizes several individuals for their contributions to Ohio's county board of DD system and/or the people with developmental disabilities that county boards support.  Whether a person has made their achievement over the past year or throughout their lifetime, all of OACB's award recipients have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the association's mission, vision, and values.

OACB sponsors six awards, five of which are awarded annually.  The sixth – our Lifetime Achievement Award – is presented on rare occasions when a person has demonstrated a monumental commitment to people with developmental disabilities throughout their lives.  To see a description of each award and a list of past winners, click the links below.


Annual Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Kenneth Legats Award for Visionary Leadership in Administration

Betty Macintosh Award for Professional Leadership & Advocacy

Partners in Excellence

Legislator of the Year

Five-Star Customer Experience Award (new in 2019)

Direct Support Professional of the Year Award (new in 2019)


Special Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award


For information about OACB Awards not contained on this page or in the pages linked above, please contact Lana Beddoes at or (614) 431-0616 to learn more.