Kenneth Legats Award for Visionary Leadership in Administration

The Board of Trustees of the Ohio Association of County Boards in conjunction with Region V Superintendents has commissioned an annual award in memory of Kenneth Legats, named the Kenneth Legats Award for Visionary Leadership in Administration. This award is presented annually to an executive who has been duly nominated by the Board of Trustees and who over a career of more than twenty years has shown high ideals, vision, and moral leadership in administration of programs for people with developmental disabilities.

About Kenneth "Ken" Legats
Kenneth "Ken" Legats was the long-time superintendent of the Muskingum County Board of Developmental Disabilities.  During his decades of service to people with developmental disabilities, he was known as a quiet, competent leader.  He was well-known and well-liked at the Ohio Statehouse, where he used his strong relationships with policymakers to support meaningful decisions on behalf of those served by county boards of DD.  A visionary leader, he was instrumental in establishing the first Council of Government (COG) in Ohio's county board of DD system - the Mid-East Ohio Regional Council of Government (MEORC) - which has since been replicated in all corners of the state.  The award is presented as a testament to his legacy and in memory of his leadership following his passing.

Click here to return to the complete listing of OACB awards.


2018 Award Winner

Steve Williams
Belmont Harrison Noble Alliance



Past Award Winners:

2017 - Jed Morison, Superintendent, Franklin County Board of DD

2016 - Kellie Brown, Superintendent, Guernsey County Board of DD

2015 - Nancy Neely, Superintendent, Licking County Board of DD

2014 - Rick Marriott, Superintendent, Ross County Board of DD

2013 - Mark Gerhardstein, Superintendent, Montgomery County Board of DD

2012 - Timothy Spitzer, Executive Director, Mid East Ohio Regional Council of Governments (MEORC)

2011 - Mary Ann Chamberlain, Superintendent, Morgan County Board of DD

2010 - Robert Morgan, Superintendent, Delaware County Board of DD 

2009 - Monty Kerr, Superintendent, Belmont, Harrison and Noble County Board of DD 

2008 - Cherl Phipps, Superintendent, Hamilton County Board of DD 

2007 - Rick Pfannenschmidt, Superintendent, Jefferson County Board of DD

2006 - H. Michael Miller, Superintendent, Richland County Board of DD

2005 - Lee Wedemeyer, Superintendent, Marion County Board of DD

2004 - Sarah Winters, Superintendent, Perry County Board of DD

2003 - Fred Valerius, Superintendent, Butler County Board of DD

2002 - Mike Donzella, Superintendent, Cuyahoga County Board of DD

2001 - Charles H. Arndt, Executive Director, OACB

2000 - Stephen Pleasnick, Superintendent, Franklin County Board of DD