Betty Macintosh Award

The Board of Trustees of the Ohio Association of County Boards commissioned this annual award in memory of Betty Macintosh, a fierce and committed advocate for Ohio's DD support system and the people it serves. This award is presented annually to a DD support professional whose career has reflected long-term dedication to moving our system forward in line with the needs and desires of Ohioans with developmental disabilities. Recipients of the Betty Macintosh Award are recognized as having contributed significantly to statewide advocacy efforts and systemic improvement benefiting Ohio's DD system.

About Betty Macintosh
Described by her colleagues and system leaders as a "visionary agent of change," Betty Macintosh was known as a tireless advocate for the children and families served by Ohio's County Boards of DD. She was a "guru" of early childhood and infant services, putting in place many programs and supporting many decisions that have survived the test of time.  A longtime employee at the Ohio Department of DD, Betty served under three governors and four directors. Throughout this time, she never strayed from her core beliefs, and passionately advocated for policy decisions that would offer a chance for a better life for people with developmental disabilities. Her dedication and vision for the future were what prompted OACB to name this award in her honor following her passing in 1997 to remind successive generations of leaders of what they should strive to accomplish with their work.


Click here to return to the complete listing of OACB awards.


2021 Award Winner


Jason Umstot
Licking County Board of DD

Click photo for higher resolution version.


Past Award Winners:

2019 - Jennifer Rousculp-Miller, Superintendent, Clark County Board of DD 

2018 - Laura Zureich, Superintendent (retired), Champaign and Shelby County Boards of DD

2017 - Steve Oster, Superintendent, Coshocton and Knox County Boards of DD

2016 - Melanie Stretchbery, Superintendent (Retired), Wood County Board of DD

2015 - Esther Baldridge, Superintendent, Allen County Board of DD

2014 - Sharon Woodrow, Superintendent, Clermont County Board of DD

2013 - Kim Linkinhoker, Associate Director, Ohio Association of County Boards of DD

2012 - Deb Yenrick, Superintendent, Sandusky County Board of DD

2011 - Alvin "Al" Willis, Superintendent, Auglaize County Board of DD

2010 - John Martin, Director, Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities  

2009 - Jim Canney, Superintendent, Madison County Board of DD 

2008 - Rick Marriott, Superintendent, Ross County Board of DD 

2007 - Jim Frederick, Superintendent, Ottawa County Board of DD

2006 - Dana Charlton, Ohio Department of DD

2005 - Dee Zeffiro-Krenisky, Superintendent, Huron County Board of DD

2004 - Randy Beach, Superintendent, Pickaway County Board of DD

2003 - Michael Stoner, Superintendent, Hancock County Board of DD

2002 - Robin Cooper, Director of Technical Assistance, National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services 

2001 - Jacqui Romer-Sensky, Director, Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 

2000 - Tom Kidd, Superintendent, Hamilton County Board of DD

1999 - Fred DeCrescentis, Superintendent, Lucas County Board of DD

1998 - Jerome Manuel, Director, Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (then known as MR/DD)